Connect with us





105th Colombo Championships

Vibuda Wijebandara completed the semi-final line up in the men’s singles of the 105th Colombo Championships winning his quarter-final match at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association clay courts on Wednesday.

The 20-year-old beat young aspirant Wenuka Kithnula 6-2, 6-2 to book a berth against Thehan Wijemanne. While Wijebandara meets Wijemanne, Dumindu Dilum will take on Luca Knese in today’s men’s singles semi-finals.

The semi-finals of the women’s singles too will be played today. Oneli Perera will encounter newly crowned national champion Anika Seneviratne while Savini Jayasuriya will meet Janali Manamperi.

Meanwhile, several Under-16 girls’ singles and Under-14 boys’ singles matches were played yesterday.

Results of Under-14 Boys Singles

Sandaru Guruge beat Binuka Silva 6-0, 6-1

Lisal Goonetilleke beat Abdul Cader 6-1, 6-2

Ganuka Fernando beat Yonal Ariyananda 7-5, 7-5

Aweesh Ganegoda beat Karthi Udayachandran 6-0, 4-6, 10-3

Janava de Saram beat Gehash Tissera 6-1, 6-4

Dhanushka Dias beat Rehan Gunawardhana 6-0, 6-3

Mohamed Nishad beat Raveen Akuretiyagama 6-3, 6-4

Methika Wickramasinghe beat Dimitri Perera 6-4, 6-4

Thisanda Bellanaarachchi beat Lithum Jayabandu 6-4, 6-4

Kenuka Geeganage beat Dulaj Wickramanayake 6-0, 4-6, 10-2

Results of Under-16 Girls Singles

Melasha Randini beat Ralindee Mallawarachchi 6-4, 6-2

Ruvini Lewkebandara beat Luvini Sumanaweera 6-1, 6-2

Dulkini Ranasinghe beat Pasadni Weerasekera 6-1, 6-2

Oneli Samarawickrama beat Dinara Welagedera 6-1, 6-1

Onali de Silva beat Nilasi de Silva 6-1, 4-6, 10-2 (RF)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Track and field action from Diyagama



Olympian Sumedha Ranasinghe was the winner of the men’s javelin throw as he cleared a distance of 78.31 metres.

The Track and Field season commenced with some of the best athletes in the senior and Under 20 age categories producing notable performances during the two-day Junior and Senior Selection Trial concluded at Diyagama on Tuesday. Here are some action pictures from the day two of the event.

(Pix by Kamal Wanniarachchi)

Continue Reading


Dharshana’s false start dampen an otherwise remarkable day



Tharushi Karunaratne beat Nadeesha Ramanayake to win the women’s 400 metres.

by Reemus Fernando

Sprinter Aruna Dharshana gave athletics fans both joy and heartache on an otherwise remarkable day as the Junior and Senior Track and Field trials concluded with a number of athletes achieving their personal bests at Diyagama yesterday.

Athletics analysts were waiting for Dharshana to reach his personal best in the men’s 400 metres final after the Army athlete produced the best performance in the heats where as many as five athletes clocked sub 47 seconds. When Dharshana followed up his 200 metres winning time of 21.12 seconds with a feat of 46.43 seconds in the 400 metres many expected him to produce a sub 46 seconds performance in the final.

But the shocking foul start meant that he will have to wait for more than a month to test his true potential. Incidentally, Kalinga Kumarage, who was off-colour in the heats (47.51 secs – second in heat 3) won the final with a feat of 46.27 seconds. However, 100 metres sprinter Medhani Jayamanne who was disqualified for a foul start in the women’s 100 metres heats was not so unlucky, as athletics officials gave her an opportunity to compete in the women’s 100 metres final, though her place was (2nd) not recognised. She clocked 12.16 seconds in the final.

Chamod Yodasinghe reached his personal best to win the men’s 100 metres.

In Dharshana’s absence four others, namely, Kumarage, R.N. Rajakaruna, Dinuka Deshan and Pabasara Niku clocked sub 47 seconds.

In the corresponding women’s 400 metres, schoolgirl Tharushi Karunaratne continued to shock her senior counterparts. Having won the women’s 800 metres on day one, the Ratnayake Central prodigy also bagged the 400 metres victory as she clocked 53.41 seconds to beat Asian Championship participant Nadeesha Ramanayake.

In the men’s 100 metres Chamod Yodasinghe reached his personal best as he clocked 10.37 seconds to win the final.

In the women’s 100 metres final, Rumeshika Ratnayake clocked 12.01 seconds to win running against the wind (-2.9). In the heats, she clocked sub 12 seconds.

In the morning, Gayanthika Abeyratne finished the women’s 1500 metres just three seconds shy of her national record mark as she clocked 4:12.53 seconds to win closely followed by steeplechase national record holder Nilani Ratnayake. Abeyratne’s national record established last year stands at 4:09.12 seconds.

In the Under 20 age category events Malith Yasiru produced the second-best performance of the Asian region in the Under 20 boys’ triple jump this year when he cleared a distance of 15.43 metres to win the event.

Continue Reading


Sri Lankan sailing teams compete in Pakistan



The Sri Lankan national team of two sailors and one windsurfer, with the Navy team of a sailor and a windsurfer, were invited to participate at the first Chief of Navy Staff International Sailing Regatta 2023 held from March 14 to 20 in Karachi, Pakistan. Twelve countries including Australia, Bahrain, Croatia, Egypt, China, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Oman, Singapore, Thailand and Turkey had sent their teams to Karachi. The Sri Lankan national team consisted of Laser Standard sailor (ILCA 7) NGMU Ghanawardene, Sri Lanka Navy, Priyantha Gunawardene, Sri Lanka Navy participating in the Windsurfing RSX Class and Laser 4.7 (ILCA 4) sailor Tharen Nanayakkara. The Navy team consisted of Laser Standard sailor (ILCA 7) JMPL Jayasuriya, Sri Lanka Navy and WAS Weeratunge, Sri Lanka Navy participating in the Windsurfing RSX Class.

Continue Reading