Connect with us


Passed Pawns Chess Club ‘A’ Division Champions



CFSL Online Women’s Rapid Teams Chess Cup 2021

Passed Pawns Chess Club captained by Sachini Ranasinghe won the ‘A’ Division title of the first ever CFSL Online Women Rapid Teams Chess Cup organized by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka on Sunday.

The team also inclusive of Kazakhstan woman grand master Dauletova Gulmira, national runners up Tharushi Sandeepani, Dasuni Hansika Mendis and Pasindi Wijesuriya took the title pushing Fischer Chess Club ‘B’ to the runner up position.

CFSL had ranked teams according to their strengths and the five strongest teams were drawn in ‘A’ Division. ‘B’ Division champions Sokians CC and first and second runners up Fischer Chess Club ‘B’ and Castle Siege Chess Club respectively also joined the fray making it a competition of eight teams involving 40 players.

Now with the champions of all three divisions found, the top four teams of ‘A’ Division will battle it out on Sunday (24) to decide the Rapid Teams Chess Cup Champions.

The CFSL has made arrangements to live stream the semi-finals and the final conducted on with former national champions, Dulan Edirisinghe and newly elected FIDE trainer, Rajeendra Kalugampitiya providing commentaries.

In the semi-finals, the ‘A’ Division Champions, Passed Pawns Chess Club will be joined by Fischer Chess Club ‘B’, Chess Champs Academy and Fisher Chess Club ‘A’.

Winning teams of ‘A’ Division

Champions: Passed Pawns Chess Club –Dasuni Hansika Mendis, Dauletova Gulmira, Sachini Ransinghe, Pasindi Wijesuriya, Tharushi Sandeepani.

First Runner Up:

Fischer Chess Club ‘B’- Rumethma Thennakoon, W.M.M.N. Wijesingha, Suchini Manisha Gunarathne, Chanethma Devangi Marasinghe, Chamodya Yapa Bandara.

Chess Champs Academy –

Dinushki Premanath, C.T. Koswatte, Sharma Isha, Saumy Zainab, Premanath Presana.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Navy men and women record wins at Inter Club rugby matches



The men’s and women’s rugby teams of the Navy secured two more wins in their encounters over the Air Force in the Sri Lanka Rugby Nippon Paint Inter Club League Rugby Tournament at the Navy Rugby Ground, Welisara.

Navy men scored a thrilling 32-31 victory over Air Force where T.M. Weerasinghe added points through three conversions and two penalties. Further, S.J.F. Gregory, R.A.N.U. Perera, M.A.F.M. Mushin and G.D.J. Laksara also made a try each.

In the meantime, Navy women recorded a comprehensive 55-0 win over their Air Force counterparts. In this encounter, A.H.S. Madumali scored three tries and collected points through five conversions. In addition, R.S.H. Kumari scored two tries and P. Dilani, M.R. Kumudumalee, G.G. Randunu and W.R.W. Vithana too scored a try each.

Continue Reading


Dinara, Sajida win first-round matches



ITF Junior Circuit Week I Tournament

Dinara de Silva and Sajida Razick won their respective first-round matches of the ITF Junior Circuit Week I tournament which commenced at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association courts on Monday.

De Silva beat Silvia Caliman of Spain 6-4, 6-2 to advance to the second round and Sajida Razick overcame India’s Gagana Mohal with a 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 win in her match.

The tournament is set to conclude on February 5.

Continue Reading


St. Anthony’s in command against Ananda



Under 19 Cricket

Kaveesha Piyumal and Induwara Galapitage shocked Ananda sharing six wickets between them as St. Anthony’s, Katugastota contained the home team to 56 for eight wickets at stumps after posting a commanding 268 on day one of the Under 19 traditional match at Ananda Mawatha on Monday.

Mohomed Aaqil (73) and Kavindu Shehan (46) gave the hosts an ideal start adding 90 runs for the first wicket after they decided to bat first. Lahiru Abeysinghe, Rayan Anthonyzs and Janith Rathnasiri then made vital contributions for them to reach 268 runs.

In their essay home team were rocked by the visitors as Piyumal grabbed for wickets for 17 runs to rattle the middle order.


St. Anthony’s

268 all out in 54 overs (Mohomed Aaqil 73, Kavindu Shehan 46, Lahiru Abeysinghe 47, Rayan Anthonyzs 27, Janith Rathnasiri 36, Charuka Ekanayake 21; Kithma Sithmal 3/86, Ashinsa Nainayake 2/57, Ayesh Shashimal 5/40)


56 for 8 in 32 overs (Kaveesha Piyumal 4/17, Induwara Galapitage 2/11) (RF)

Continue Reading