Connect with us


Maushada excels as Ananda win



Under-19 Cricket

by Reemus Fernando

Maushada Fernando held Ananda batting together with an unbeaten half century to record a two wicket victory over Maris Stella as they shared the top two positions of the points table with Isipatana in Group ‘Y’ of Tier ‘B’ in the Under-19 Division I tournament on Wednesday.

Chasing a target of 149 runs to win Fernando stroked an unbeaten 53 runs inclusive of four boundaries to reach the target with three overs to spare.

In the other Tier ‘B’ match played yesterday, St. Peter’s beat Moratu Vidyalaya according to the Parabola Method to top Group ‘X’. It was their second win of the group. St. Peter’s and Mahinda have recorded back to back wins in the group.

In the Tier ‘A’ match played at Katugastota, Banuka Manohara with an unbeaten 46 runs and paceman Amshi de Silva with a three wicket haul excelled for Richmond to overcome St. Anthony’s according to the Parabola Method. With the victory Richmond topped group ‘Z’ in Tier ‘A’.



Ananda beat Maris Stella by two wickets at Katuneriya

Maris Stella

148 for 9 in 50 overs (Amantha Perera 53n.o.; Tehaan Perera 3/31)


152 for 8 in 46.3 overs (Nushal Dharmarathna 20, Kanishka Ranthilakage 22, Maushada Fernando 59n.o.; Priyashan Silva 3/20)

St. Peter’s beat Moratu Vidyalaya at Moratuwa

St. Peter’s

149 all out 43.4 overs (Shenal Boteju 47, Wanuja Kumara 21; Niraj Kavishka 2/34, Mahith Methdinu 2/26, Vishwa Didulana 3/20)

Moratu MV

112 for 8 in 43 overs (Vishwa Didulana 26, Sukitha Dewhilina 28, Santhuka Amod 22; Wanuja Kumara 2/26, Niman Umesh 2/27, Jesuran Benjamin 2/14)

Richmond beat St. Anthony’s at Katugastota

St. Anthony’s

111 all out in 38.1 overs (Yasiru Gamarachchi 36, Anjala Bandara 28n.o.; Amshi de Silva 3/32, Kalpa Nethsara 2/26, Hansamana de Silva 2/16)


93 for 2 in 23.1 overs (Chamath Wickramasinghe 25, Bhanuka Manohara 46n.o.)



Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Rajapaksa, Arshdeep deliver winning start for PBKS




Bhanuka Rajapaksa hit fifty off 32 balls. (pic BCCI)

A power-packed, collective performance with the bat set the platform for Punjab Kings’ winning start as they downed Kolkata Knight Riders by seven runs (DLS method) at the PCA stadium in Mohali on Saturday (April 1). Bhanuka Rajapaksa (50 off 32) registered his maiden IPL fifty while Shikhar Dhawan struck a 29-ball 40, and along with useful contributions from the rest of the batters, PBKS posted a formidable 191/5. Andre Russell top-scored for KKR but they lost wickets at regular intervals and eventually fell short of the DLS par score as they finished with 146/7 in 16 overs when rain forced the players off the field.

Brief scores:

Punjab Kings 191/5 in 20 overs (Bhanuka Rajapaksa 50, Shikhar Dhawan 40; Tim Southee 2-54) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 146/7 in 16 overs (Andre Russell 35; Venkatesh Iyer 34; Arshdeep Singh 3-19) by 7 runs (DLS method).

Continue Reading


Ruturaj 92 in vain as Titans win opening game




Shubman Gill set the platform for a terrific run-chase in the season opener

A brilliant 92 from Ruturaj Gaikwad went in vain as defending champions Gujarat Titans beat Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad on Friday (March 31) in the tournament opener. Gaikwad’s innings was nullified to an extent initially by Shubman Gill before a few vital blows towards the end of the game from the Titans middle order got the job done for them with four balls to spare.

Brief scores:

Chennai Super Kings 178/7 in 20 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 92; Rashid Khan 2/26, Mohammed Shami 2/29) lost to Gujarat Titans182/5 in 19.2 overs (Shubman Gill 63; Rajvardhan Hangargekar 3/36) by 5 wickets

Continue Reading


Bowlers, Stirling lead Ireland to their first win in Bangladesh in any format



Paul Stirling was as free-flowing as ever as he guided Ireland’s chase

Ireland finally notched a win on their tour of Bangladesh by scoring a seven-wicket win in the final T20I in Chattogram on Friday. Mark Adair led the bowling charge with three wickets as Bangladesh were bowled out for 124, and Paul Stirling, later named Player of the Match, was at his inventive best as he struck a 41-ball 77 to headline the chase. It was Ireland’s first T20I win over Bangladesh since 2009 and their first win in any format in the country.

Bangladesh had already taken the series after winning the first two games earlier in the week, and made two changes, perhaps to try out alternatives. Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman went out; Rishad Hossain was handed a debut and Shoriful Islam made a comeback. It was the batting that came unstuck, though.

After opting to bat, Bangladesh were 61 for 7 in nine-and-a-half overs. Shamim Hossain, however, scored his first international half-century, making 51 off 42 balls with five fours and two sixes to give them a competitive 124. One of those sixes was a particularly eye-catching shot, when he reverse-whipped Curtis Campher hit over backward point for six.

But with Stirling in blistering form, and playing a few inventive shots of his own, the chase was done and dusted in 14 overs.Bangladesh’s slide started in the second over. Litton Das’ slash towards deep point against a wide Adair delivery landed in George Dockrell’s lap. It was the first time Bangladesh had lost a wicket in the powerplay after three matches.

Najmul Hossain Shanto was next to go, hitting a slog-sweep off Harry Tector straight to deep midwicket. Campher juggled the catch but clung on. In the next over, Campher himself got a wicket, when Rony Talukdar holed out at deep midwicket.

Towhid Hridoy and Shakib Al Hasan, however, went for their shots in keeping with Bangladesh’s new approach, and hit a couple of big ones, but both were gone in the space of three balls. Shakib was caught at short midwicket mistiming a pull off Adair, while Hridoy holed out off Ben White in the seventh over

Matthew Humphreys had two wicketless ODIs in Sylhet, but the left-arm spinner had a better start to his T20I career. He took a wicket off his first ball when he yorked Rishad for 8.

That made him the first Ireland bowler to take a wicket with his first ball in T20Is. This was, however, not the first time a debutant had done this against Bangladesh. Previously, Rory Kleinveldt, Pragyan Ojha, Lockie Ferguson and Cole McConchie have all achieved the feat.

Humphreys added his second off his third ball, when Taskin Ahmed was caught at deep midwicket for a duck.Shamim and Nasum Ahmed added 33 runs for the eighth wicket before Nasum was caught in the covers off Gareth Delany’s legspin. Adair took his third when he removed Shoriful, before Fionn Hand took Shamim’s wicket in the final over.

Stirling didn’t get going at the start, as there were two early wickets, of Ross Adair and Lorcan Tucker, but once he was set, there was no stopping him. He cut and swept Shakib for fours to kickstart the chase, and then deposited Hasan Mahmud’s half-tracker for his first six next over. No bowler escaped his wrath, or his inventiveness, as he hit ten fours and four sixes in his 41-ball innings.

Many of those came in one Shoriful over, the 11th of the innings, when he pulled a six and hit three fours to take 20 runs. Rishad put an end to the mayhem when he had Stirling caught at long-on in the 13th over – it was Stirling’s 22nd half-century in T20Is and Rishad’s first international wicket – but Campher closed out the chase with a four and a six off Taskin.

Brief scores:

Ireland 126 for 3 (Stirling 77, Campher 16*, Tector 14*, Rishad 1-19) beat Bangladesh 124 (Shamim 51, Adair 3-25, Humphreys 2-10) by seven wickets

Continue Reading