Connect with us


Lalith Athulathmudali and Dhammissara clash for the title



Lalith Athulathmudali College Team

Under 19 Division III Tier ‘B’ Cricket Final   

Two unbeaten teams, namely Lalith Athulathmudali College, Mount Lavinia and Dhammissara National School, Naththandiya will clash for the title of the Under 19 Division III Tier ‘B’ tournament at Campbell Place today.

Lalith Athulathmudali captained by Dushan Silva were the champions in their group after beating Science College, Mt. Lavinia, Dharmaraja MV, and Ananda Vidyalaya Kottawa in the first round. Over 190 teams competed in 42 rounds in the first round.

In the final round, the boys from Mount Lavinia, beat Malabe Boys College and Kadawatha Central before knocking out Basilica College, Ragama (pre-quarter-final), Saralankara MV, Gonapinuwala (quarter-final) and Kekirawa Central ( semi-final) to reach the final.

Dhammissara skippered by Ranuka Shavinda did not have to toil much in the first round as two of their matches were not played. Dhammissara beat Tharmapuram MV, Kilinochchi, Sir William Gopallawa MV, Gokarella and Hartley College, Point Pedro in the final round. During the business end of the tournament they knocked out Amarasooriya MMV, Meepawala (pre-quarter-final),  Mahanam National School, Monaragala (quarter-final) and Poramadulla Central (semi final) to seal the final spot.

Dhammissara National School Team


Lalith Athulathmudali (from): Dushan Silva (Captain), Yowel Arosha, Danupa Sanjaya, Chenuka Hashmitha, Yalina Ravindu, Ravindu Kumara, Yasaru Fernando, Chalaka Perera, Sithum Silva, Bihandu Perera, Nirwan Tissera, Avishka Kumara, Anuhas Silva, Janith Priyashan, Hashen Kumara, Methsilu De Costa, Tharaka Sathyajith, Ramithu Disen. Officials: G.W.A. Wijekumara (Master in Charge), K.I.S. Fernando (Head Coach), Ramithu Disen (Asst. coach)

Dhammissara National School (from): Ranuka Shavinda (Captain), Pushpitha Thennakoon, Savindu Gimhan, Poorna Karunanayake, Ashan Dhananjaya, Sanjana Pieris, Hasith Nayanajith, Suwetha Perera, Ovindu Sachinthana, Samil Marasinghe, Bihandu Venitha, Krishan Sankalpa, Chamindu Warnakulasuriya, Sachchana Samaradiwakara, Sadinsha Methushana, Dinul Kumarage, Isuru Jayasekara, Komin Sathyanjana, Mizal Ahamed, Shenol Malshan. Officials: H.K.S. Jayasekara (Master in Charge), S.A.C. Heshan Perera (Head Coach), W.A. Shanuka (Asst. Coach)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Foreign News

China censors ‘Tiananmen’ image of Asian Games athletes hugging




The race numbers for Lin Yuwei and Wu Yanni form '64' (pic BBC)

A photo of two Chinese female athletes that made an inadvertent reference to the Tiananmen Square massacre has been censored on Chinese social media.

The race numbers for Lin Yuwei and Wu Yanni form ’64’ – a common allusion to the incident which happened on June 4.

Discussions of the incident remain taboo in China, with authorities routinely scrubbing any mention of the topic from the internet.

In 1989, troops shot dead hundreds of pro-democracy protesters in Beijing. It remains unclear how many people actually died that day, but human rights groups’ estimates range from several hundred to several thousand killed.

The athletes had embraced each other after a 100m hurdles race at the Asian Games in which Ms Lin won gold. She was wearing her lane number 6 next to Ms Wu’s lane number 4 in the photo.

Users had posted on Weibo, one of China’s biggest social media platforms, congratulating Ms Lin. However, posts which included the photo were replaced with grey squares. However, the photo does not appear to have been completely scrubbed off the internet, with some Chinese news articles still showing a photo of the two athletes.

China has won nearly 300 medals so far in the Asian Games, which are currently taking place in the Chinese city of Hangzhou. It is due to go on until 8 October.


Continue Reading

Latest News

All-round Afif helps Bangladesh survive Malaysia scare




Afif Hossain starred with both bat and ball

Afif Hossain put on an all-round show as Bangladesh beat Malaysia by two runs to confirm their semi-final fixture against India at the Asian Games. Malaysia needed five in the last over with Virandeep Singh batting on 52 off 35, but Afif gave away just two runs to keep the upset at bay.

Afif varied the pace in each of the first three balls of the final over to frustrate Virandeep before lobbing one up outside his hitting arc. Virandeep tried to break the shackles but holed out to long-on with Malaysia still needing five. Afif then nailed two yorkers to give away just two runs and end the contest.

Chasing 117, Malaysia were reduced to 18 for 3, with Afif striking twice in the fifth over. Virandeep then stitched two key partnerships, adding 34 for the fifth wicket with Vijay Unni and then 40 for the seventh with wicketkeeper-batter Ainool Hafizs, to take his side close. But Malaysia faltered in the last over.

Earlier in the day, Afif found himself in the middle with Bangladesh three down inside three overs. He struck a 14-ball 23 with two fours and two sixes and added 38 in just four overs with captain Saif Hassan. Hassan struck a steady half-century – 50 off 52 balls – on a surface that slowed down considerably after the earlier game, between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan, in the day.

Pravandeep Singh, Virandeep’s elder brother, finished with two wickets for Malaysia but Bangladesh managed to get to 116, which eventually proved to be just enough.

Brief scores:
Bangladesh 116 for 5 in 20 overs (Saif Hassan 50*, Afif  Hossain 23, Shahadat Hossain 21;  Pavandeep Singh  2-12) beat Malaysia 114 for 8 in 20 overs (Virandeep Singh 52, Syed Aziz 20;  Afif Hossain 3-11, Ripon Mondol 3-14) by two runs


Continue Reading

Latest News

Naib, Qais knock Sri Lanka out to take Afghanistan into semi-final




[File photo] - Gulbadin Naib dealt early blows

Afghanistan knocked an inexperienced Sri Lanka side out of the Asian Games to book a spot in the semi-final in Hangzhou. On a slow-turner, Noor Ali Zadran struck a steady fifty before three-fors from Oais Ahmad and Gulbadin Naib dealt the final blow to Sri Lanka, who had nine debutants.

After opting to field, Sri Lanka struck with the seventh ball of the match when Nuwan Thushara cleaned up Sediqullah Atal. Noor and Mohammad Shahzad then added 54 for the second wicket but both batters struggled against left-arm spinner Nimesh Vimukthi and took their time in the middle.

After Shahzad fell to seamer Lahiru Samarakoon, Shahidullah struck some lusty blows during his 14-ball 23. But then a collapse ensued that saw Afghanistan slide from 92 for 2 to be bowled out for 116. Thushara, with his slingy action and accurate yorkers, finished with 4 for 17.

In reply, Sri Lanka raced off the blocks, with Lasith Croospulle hitting Naib for a four and a six in an 11-run second over. Even though he fell in the next over, Sri Lanka reached 59 for 3 by the end of the ninth over.

That’s when Qais came into the attack and turned the game around with a two-wicket over. Ashen Bandara fell to a googly and played on while attempting a drive. Three balls later, wicketkeeper-batter Lahiru Udara was lured into playing a heave across the line to be bowled.

Captain Sahan Arachchige showed some resistance with his 22 off 29, and later, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth kept the slim hopes alive when 15 were needed from 12 ball and then nine in the final over. But Karim Janat knocked Thushara over with the first ball of the 20th over to kick-start celebrations in the Afghan camp.

Brief scores:
Afghanistan 116 in 18.3 overs (Mohammad Shahzad 20, Noor Ali Zadran 51, Shahidullah 23; Nuwan Thushara 4-17, Sahan Arachchige 2-26) beat Sri Lanka 108 in 19.1 overs (Sahan Arachchige 22, Qais Ahmad 3-16, Gulbadin Naib 3-28) by eight runs

Continue Reading