Connect with us


Lahiru Kumara returns to SL white-ball squad for India series



Lahiru Kumara returns to the limited-overs setup


Uncapped Lahiru Udara, Shiran Fernando and Ishan Jayaratne have been named in Sri Lanka’s 24-member squad for the ODI and T20I series, Sri Lanka Cricket announced on Friday (July 16). The squad also includes Dhananjaya Lakshan and Praveen Jayawickrama, both of whom have featured in only ODI so far and are yet to make their T20I debut while Lahiru Kumara returns to the limited-overs setup after a lengthy gap.

Dasun Shanaka will lead the side while Dhananjaya De Silva has been named his deputy. Kusal Perera misses out due to an injury while Binura Fernando, who is recovering from an ankle injury, will feature in the T20I series.

Udara, the 27-year-old batsman, has an impressive strike rate of 135.87 in the 34 T20 matches he’s played so far. Pacer Shiran averages 14.81 in the 14 T20s he’s played while allrounder Jayaratne has a strike rate of 149.84 with the bat in hand while he averages 16.86 with the ball in the 51 T20s he’s played in.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who last played a T20I against India in Indore in 2020, also finds a place in the squad along with Lahiru Kumara, who last featured in a limited-overs contest for Sri Lanka in 2020. Kasun Rajitha too makes a comeback in both squads after a gap of more than year in limited-overs cricket.

The series was postponed by a few days after COVID-19 positive cases emerged in the Sri Lankan camp after their tour of England. The two teams will play all their matches in Colombo with the opening ODI on July 18. The T20I series will start from July 25.



Dasun Shanaka (capt), Dhananjaya De Silva (vice-capt), Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Udara, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dananjaya, Shiran Fernando, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Praveen Jayawickrama, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana





Phil Salt sets up big win for Dambulla Giants



Niroshan Dickwella scored 37 runs.

Phil Salt hammered 64 in 27 balls and Nuwan Pradeep and Ramesh Mendis picked up three wickets each as Dambulla Giants beat Kandy Warriors by 20 runs in the second match of the Lanka Premier League played at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Monday.

In reply to Giants’ 190 runs, Warriors could post only 170 as Padeep and Mendis shared six wickets between them.

Phil Salt was the Player of the Match for his 64 which was inclusive of four fours and five sixes. “I’m just going out there trying to play positive cricket,” he said. “I know from playing out here a few times that the new ball doesn’t stay new for very long, and you’ve got to make the best of it.”

Salt and Niroshan Dickwella gave a superb start to the tournament for Giants as they put on 97 runs together in the first 7.4 overs. From that point on, it was always going to be tough for Warriors. Dickwella scored 37 runs inclusive of six fours. Skipper Dasun Shanaka chipped in with 24 runs while Ramesh Mendis hit an unbeaten 22 runs in 11 balls.

Warriors did fight with the bat thanks largely to Rovman Powell’s 42 off 21, but the best they could do was get close enough so their net run rate wasn’t too badly damaged.


Dambulla Giants  190 for 7 in 20 overs

(Niroshan Dickwella 37, Phil Salt 64, Dasun Shanaka 24, Ramesh Mendis 22n.o.; Lahiru Kumara 3/34, Al-Amin Hossain 2/36) 

Kandy Warriors 170 for 8 in 20 overs

(Angelo Perera 24, Rovman Powell 42, Sachindu Colombage 27; Nuwan Pradeep 3/31, Ramesh Mendis 3/21) 

Continue Reading


Vijaya, Rantharu shine at Dialog President’s Gold Cup Volleyball Championship



Men’s Champions Rantharu Ports Club pose after they won the men’s title.

Rantharu Sports Club, Debegama and Vijaya Sports Club, Koswadiya won the men’s and women’s titles respectively of the Dialog President’s Gold Cup Volleyball Championship 2020 at the National Youth Services Council Indoor Stadium on Sunday.

Vijaya Sports Club, Koswadiya beat Hirdaramani Sports Club Galigamuwa 3-1 in the women’s final. After being beaten 18-25 in the first set the team fought back scoring victories in the next three sets to win the award.

J.W.P. Thushari (best setter), Chathurika Ranasinghe (best blocker), Sanjeewani Adhikari (best defender) and Dinesha Prasadani (best attacker and most valuable player) who did well for the winners received awards for their outstanding performances. Nimeshika Sewwandi Gunasekara and Harshani Senaratne from Hirdaramani were adjudged the best server and best receiver respectively.

Women’s Champions Vijaya Sports Club pose with their awards.

In the men’s final, Rantharu Sports Club, Debegama beat United Sports Club, Nattandiya to win the men’s title.

Kanishka Madushanka (best server), Ruchira Sampath Jayatunga (best setter), Nishan Kodisinghe (best blocker), Suranga Wickramasena (best defender) and Sanka Dineth Jayaratne (most valuable player) received individual awards for Rantharu.

Kushan Chamara (best receiver) and Mahela Indeewara (best attacker) won awards for United.

Continue Reading


Chathurya, Thehan, Oneli, Tania win Under 18 doubles titles



Chathurya Nilaweera and Thehan Wijemanne and Oneli Perera and Tania Doloswala won the Under 18 boys’ and girls’ doubles titles of the 106 Colombo Championships on Sunday.

In the Under 16 doubles finals, Saajida Razick and Dinara de Silva and Thilina Dissanayake and Nithila Goonetilleke were the girls’ and boys’ winners respectively, while Abdul Cader and Dhanushka Dias clinched the Under 14 boys’ doubles title.

Match Results

Under 18 girls doubles final:

Oneli Perera and Tania Doloswala beat Hasali Gajaba and Minuki Wanniarachchi (2-4, 4-2, 10-4)

Under 18 boys doubles final

: Chathurya Nilaweera and Thehan Wijemanne beat Vichinthya Nilaweera and Heshika Perera (4-1, 4-1)

Under- 16 girls doubles final:

Saajida Razick and Dinara de Silva beat Dinethya Dharmaratne and Anitra Dharmaratne (5-3, 4-2)

Under 16 boys doubles final:

Thilina Dissanayake and Nithila Goonetilleke beat Methvan Wijemanne and Lisal Goonetilleke (5-3, 4-2)

Under 14 boys doubles final:

Abdul Cader and Dhanushka Dias beat Kavidu Sawmya and Ganuka Fernando (4-2, 5-3).

Continue Reading