Connect with us


Injury nightmare amidst heavy defeat for Lankans



Ruan van der Merwe in Centurion

The scorecard suggests that Sri Lanka lost the first Test against the Proteas by an innings and 45 runs but there was lot of sympathy for them from the hosts after they were hampered by a series of injuries. The game ended inside four days and a session to spare but more worryingly several players will be out of action for the next Test match at the Wanderers.

Dhananjaya de Silva, Kasun Rajitha and Lahiru Kumara are all out of second Test and batsman Dinesh Chandimal remains doubtful too after was troubled by a groin strain.

Sri Lanka resumed on 65 for two and needed the overnight pair of Chandimal and Kusal Perera to bat deep. But the Proteas found the breakthrough in the eighth over of the morning.

All the talk before the series was the serious pace that Anrich Nortje could generate and trouble the batsmen. But in this day and age of bowling machines, more than pace, a skilful seamer is handy. Wiaan Mulder, barely touches 135kmph but his skill set is highly valued by the Proteas. He bowled Chandimal with a delivery that kept low.

Mulder picked up five wickets in the game and his batting is more than handy and he is the best all-rounder to emerge from South Africa since Jacques Kallis. Aged 22, the Proteas prefer him in white ball cricket but with the red cherry he adds variety to the attack which is known for outright pace comprising the likes of Nortje and Kagiso Rabada, both men who clock 145kmph on average.

Kusal Perera went onto top score with 64 runs but it was the half-century by Wanindu Hasaranga that took the attention of all. The highly rated Sri Lankan all-rounder threw caution to wind smashing 59 off 53 balls with 12 fours and a six.

Sri Lanka did not chicken out sending both Rajitha and Kumara to bat. Dhananjaya de Silva was absent as he barely could walk following a thigh strain.

You would have expected Sri Lanka to bat more than 46 overs and perhaps make the Proteas bat again. But given the calamities they have suffered in this game, their minds were not all there. They will bounce back for sure having played such attractive cricket on the opening day. Cricket is a funny game.

There was some doubt whether the series will go ahead after the South African government announced a nationwide lockdown to deal with the pandemic but there was confirmation from Cricket South Africa that the series will continue – behind closed doors.


Shahan, Vishwa score centuries  



Under 19 Cricket  

Shahan Kaushalya and Vishwa Rajapaksha scored centuries for their respective schools as the Under 19 traditional cricket encounter between St. Joseph Vaz’s College, Wennappuwa and Lumbini College ended in a draw at Katunayake on Tuesday.

While Rajapaksha scored an unbeaten century before taking six wickets to restrict Lumbini, Kaushalya scored 103 runs for Lumbini to take the first innings lead.


St. Joseph Vaz’s

185 all out in 74 overs (Vishwa Rajapaksha  100n.o.; Dumidu Sewmina 2/22, Shahan Kaushalya 2/25, Yasiru Yugath 3/48, Dinal Sewmina  2/11) and 153 for 5 in 39 overs (Kavith Shehara 21, Vishwa Rajapaksha 28, Menusha Perera 42, Hansa Eshan 35; Yasiru Yugath 2/58) 


254 for 8 decl. in 65.3 overs (Dhanitha Sandesh 40, Shahan Kaushalya 103, Yasiru Yugath          50, Kavindu Bimsara 25; Vishwa Rajapaksha 6/79) 

Continue Reading


Holy Cross record thrilling one wicket win to reach final  



Holy Cross College team pose with school officials after they beat Sri Sumangala College, Panadura in the semi-final played at Dombagoda on Monday. 

Under 19 Division II Tier ‘A’ cricket 

Holy Cross College, Kalutara pulled off a thrilling one wicket victory over Sri Sumangala College, Panadura to reach the final of the Under 19 Division II Tier ‘A’ cricket tournament at Dombagoda on Monday(5).

Chasing a target of 127 runs to win, the boys from Kalutara were precariously placed at six wickets down for 72 runs at one stage but an unbeaten 38 runs by Pasindu Wimansa helped them reach the target with a wicket to spare. Wimansa faced 48 balls and scored a six and a four in his decisive knock.

Earlier on, Holy Cross were rocked by Imalka Fernando who took four wickets including back to back wickets in one over before skipper Sasindu Kaushan helped them ease nerves by adding crucial runs.

Wimansa who was anchoring a fragile tail saw two of his partners leaving without making any additions to the total. Both of them fell victim to Wishwa Kumara who completed his ten overs for just 13 runs. With just one wicket remaining and seven runs to score it was anybody’s game at that stage. But Wimansa kept his cool to guide Holy Cross to the final.

In the morning they justified the decision to bowl first as Hivin Kenula, Wimansa, Sonal Awadika and Hansaja Brian struck decisive blows to keep Sri Sumangala top order calm. The only exception was Duranka Silva who dropped anchor with a valuable 41 runs which contained seven fours.

With as many as six batsmen getting out for single digit scores, Duranka, number seven batsman Kavindu Gayathra and Imalka Fernando got them to their eventual total.

Holy Cross will now meet Lyceum International School, Wattala in the final. Lyceum scored a four wickets win over St. Sebastian’s, Katuneriya according to D/L system in their semi-final.


Sri Sumangala

126 all out in 39.1 overs (Duranka Silva 41, Kavindu Gayathra 33, Imalka Fernando 14; Pasindu Wimansa 3/30, Sonal Awadika 2/18, Gayantha Nadeesha 2/01) 

Holy Cross

127 for 9 in 48 overs (Sanuka Cheran 17, Rashan Kethaka 16, Sasindu Kaushan 14, Pasindu Wimansa 38n.o.; Vishwa Kumara 2/13, Nethmika Peiris 2/23, Imalka Fernando 4/25)


Continue Reading


Kandy Falcons defeat Galle Gladiators by 5 wickets




Kandy Falcons defeated Galle Gladiators by five wickets in the fourth match of LPL 2022 played at MRICS on Wednesday (07).

Galle Gladiators 121/8 in 20 overs (Movin Subasinghe 40, Imad Wasim 34; Zahoor Khan 2/26, Carlos Braithwaite 4/14, Isuru Udana 1/19, Wanidu Hasaranga 1/34)

Kandy Falcons 123/5 in 15 overs (Pathum Nissanka 22, Andre Fletcher 20, Kamindu Mendis 44; Nuwan Pradeep 2/34, Nuwan Thushara 1/18, Ifthikar Ahamed 1/07, Pulina Tharanga 1/20)

Continue Reading