Connect with us


Entries called for NSSF National Rifle and Pistol Championship 2020 



The NSSF has scheduled the National Rifle and Pistol Championship 2020 from November 12 to 21 at the Sri Lanka Navy Small Bore Range at SLNS Gemunu in Welisara.

The National Shooting Sports Federation of Sri Lanka (NSSF) has set the dates to host its first major event for this year despite uncertainty caused by the spike in the COVID-19 cases.

After vigilantly observing the situation for nearly seven months, the NSSF hopes to conduct at least the most important events for the year. The NSSF has scheduled the National Rifle and Pistol Championship 2020 from November 12 to 21 at the Sri Lanka Navy Small Bore Range at SLNS Gemunu in Welisara.

This championship will include a total of 16 events in three different categories – Youth, Junior and Open. The age categories have been determined as 12 to 18 for Youth, 18 to 21 for Junior and 21 and above for Open.

Among the events lined up are Youth and Junior Male and Female in both pistol and rifle, Open events in pistol, rifle, 50m rifle, 3×40 for both male and female. Among the Open Male pistol events are 50m, 25m STD and 25m rapid fire, while a 25m sports pistol event is on cards for Open Female.

Among other events lined up are Mix air pistol and air rifle Open, Mix Junior air pistol and rifle, which will be open also for Youth as events will be conducted under individual and team segments.

The top three shooters will receive medals and certificates with points granted for national selection. Best performers in Youth, Junior and Open categories in rifle and pistol will receive special individual awards while special awards will be presented for the best teams under rifle and pistol categories. The competition will be conducted in accordance to the rules and regulations of the international shooting body, the ISSF.

The final draw for the event will be held on October 30 at 4.30pm at the NSSF office in the Old Sports Ministry building in Torrington. The NSSF secretary Pradeep Edirisinghe confirmed that the draw will be final and all club representatives should reconfirm entries before submitting.

“Clubs and affiliates can send in their entries on or before October 25, before 4.00pm to the NSSF office, at P.O. Box 33, Old Sports Ministry Building, Colombo 7. We will be highly concerned on the entries and clubs have been notified to include the signature of the secretary and the stamp of their respective clubs with entry fees,” Edirisinghe stated.

The results of the NSSF National Rifle and Pistol Championship will be considered for updating the current national pools of Open, Youth and Junior segments. The NSSF had originally planned to conduct eight local competitions throughout 2020, but due to the current pandemic situation which made its outbreak in March earlier this year, competitions were on hold pending clearance from the higher authorities. With shooting being a sport that could be conducted under the current health regulations, the NSSF is optimistic that it could complete the event, with the intention of selecting athletes for future international meets.


Afghanistan elect to bat first in third T-20 International



Afghanistan won the toss and elected to bat first in the third T-20 International against Sri Lanka at Dambulla on Wednesday. The Afghan captain won all three tosses in the series but this is the first time he has opted to bat first.

The game is a dead rubber with Sri Lanka having already secured the series 2-0.

Sri Lanka made four changes from the side that won on Monday to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three match series.

They left-out Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Binura Fernando and Maheesh Theekshanka and brought in top order batter Kusal Perera, all-rounder Kamindu Mendis, off-spinner Akila Dananjaya and seamer Nuwan Thushara.

Afghanistan also made four changes leaving out Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Fazalhaq Farooqi and Naveen-ul-Haq.

They brought in all-rounder Sharfuddin Ashraf, left-arm seamer Fareed Malik, right-arm quick Wafadar Momand and batter Mohammad Ishaq, who is making his debut.

The tourists are yet to win a game in the multi-format bilateral tour. They lost the one off Test match in Colombo and suffered a 3-0 whitewash in the ODI series at Pallekele before conceding a 2-0 advantage in the three match T-20 series in Dambulla.

Sri Lanka:

Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (Wicketkeeper), Kusal Perera, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga (Captain) Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya and Nuwan Thushara.


Ibrahim Zadran (Captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Wicketkeeper), Azmatullah Omarzai, Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Noor Ahmad, Hazratullah Zazai, Sharfuddin Ashraf, Mohammad Ishaq, Fareed Malik and Wafadar Momand.  


Lyndon Hannibal (SRI) and Ravindra Wimalasiri (SRI)

Television Umpire:

 Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

Match Referee:

Chris Broad (ENG)

Continue Reading


Sri Lanka teams reach tennis quarter-finals



Dinara de Silva and Ganuka Fernando

The girls and boys teams of Sri Lanka reached the quarter-finals of the Billie Jean King Cup Junior and Junior Davis Cup Asia Oceania Pre Qualifying tournaments continued at the Sri Lanka Tennis Association courts on Wednesday.

The girls team beat Maldives 2-0, as Ivanka Samarasinghe (beat Nishan Naba 6-1, 6-2) and Dinara de Silva (beat Azim Araa Aasaal 6-2, 6-2) registered straight set victories in the singles.

The boys team edged out Iraq 2-1. Ganuka Fernando beat Shammama Faisac 6-1, 6-2 in his singles match before joining Lithum Jayabandu to win the doubles against Shammama Faisac and Bakr Akam 6-2, 6-1.

In the second singles Jayabandu went down to Bakr Akam (6-3, 6-2).

Continue Reading


Dialog powers Royal – Thomian for 19th time



Lasantha Thevarapperuma – Group Chief Marketing Officer, Dialog Axiata PLC handing over the sponsorship to Rev. Marc Billimoria – Warden, S. Thomas’ College and Thilak Waththuhewa - Principal, Royal College. Also pictured (L) Rehan Gunasekera – Co-Chairman, Royal Thomian Match Organizing Committee From RC, (R) Arjuna Waidyasekera – Co-Chairman, Royal Thomian Match Organizing Committee from STC.

Dialog Axiata PLC, Sri Lanka’s premier connectivity provider, has extended corporate backing for the 19th year as official sponsor of the country’s blue ribboned cricket encounter, the ‘Battle of the Blues’ between Royal College, Colombo, and S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia on March 7, 8 and 9 at the SSC Grounds, Colombo. The limited-over ‘Mustang’s Trophy’ match will be on March 16, also at the same venue.

The 145th cricket encounter will be aired live on Dialog Television – ThePapare TV HD (Channel Number 126), live-streamed on and the Dialog ViU App.

Further, Dialog initiated the ‘Play for a Cause’ charity initiative with a mission to uplift school cricket across Sri Lanka. Through a generous pledge of Rs. 1,000 for every run scored and Rs. 10,000 for every wicket taken, last year’s encounter raised a substantial donation of Rs. 1,128,000. The proceedings were distributed in consultation with the Principal of Royal College and the Warden of S. Thomas’ College. This commendable effort helped support and empower four deserving schools in the country.

In this year’s encounter, the boys from Mt. Lavinia will be led by Mahith Perera, while the lads from Reid Avenue will play under the captaincy of Sineth Jayawardena, the U-19 Sri Lanka skipper. The ‘Royal-Thomian’ series spans an impressive 144 years, making it the second longest uninterrupted cricket series in the world, behind the annual encounter between St. Peters College, Adelaide, and Prince Alfred College, Adelaide, Australia, which began just a year earlier.

Continue Reading