Connect with us


Can depleted Sri Lanka turn things around?



Minod and Asitha set to make Test debuts

Four of Sri Lanka’s players who featured in the opening Test match have been ruled out of the second Test in Johannesburg which begins today and they might lose a fifth if Wanindu Hasaranga is ruled unfit. The leg-spinner will undergo a fitness test ahead of the game.

The series of injuries means Sri Lanka will be left with an inexperienced line-up and there will be two debutants in Minod Bhanuka and Asitha Fernando.

Bhanuka, a 25-year-old from Kurunegala, represents SSC in First Class cricket and has been a prolific run scorer in domestic cricket.

Asitha Fernando bowls medium fast and he is another player to emerge from outstations – Katuneriya. He represents the native Chilaw Marians in domestic cricket.

Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara and Dhananjaya de Silva are ruled out up to eight weeks and they will miss the two Tests against England as well.

Dinesh Chandimal too, is down with groin injury. Suranga Lakmal and Oshada Fernando, who had gone on the tour and missed the opening Test were expected to play the second game but they had aggravated their injuries during training.

Lahiru Thirimanne along with Dushmantha Chameera will make their comebacks. While the former will bat at number three, the latter will share the new ball with Vishwa Fernando.

If Hasaranga is ruled out, Sri Lanka will choose between Lasith Embuldeniya and Dilruwan Perera.

South Africa are likely to play an unchanged side. Although Kagiso Rabada has returned to the squad, Head Coach Mark Boucher was keen on taking a cautious approach with fast bowlers who are returning from injuries.


Sri Lanka (Probable XI)

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga or Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando and Dushmantha Chameera.

South Africa (Probable XI)

Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Rassie van der Dussen, Francois du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (Captain), Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla or Kagiso Rabada.

Breaking News

Sri Lanka Cricket appoints Olympic medalist Susanthika Jayasinghe to promote women’s cricket




Sri Lanka Cricket announced the appointment of Olympic Silver Medalist  Susanthika Jayasinghe as the ‘Consultant—Mentoring and Development of Women’s Cricket.”

Jayasinghe, one of the most decorated athletes produced by Sri Lanka and the only female athlete to win an Olympic medal for her country and the only Asian woman athlete to have won an Olympic medal in sprint events, will use her story of grit and determination to inspire the present and future generations of women cricketers in Sri Lanka.

Her appointment took effect on February 1, 2023.

Continue Reading


Sri Lanka leave out injured Hasini Perera for T20 World Cup



Sri Lanka will be without Hasini Perera during the T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka have left out experienced campaigner Hasini Perera from their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup after she suffered an injury. Perera, who was named in the original squad, was forced out after injuring her finger during a practice session.

She has been replaced by Sathya Sandeepani, whose only appearance for the national side came in the 2020 T20 World Cup encounter against runners-up India. Apart from the forced change, the Asian side have also made a couple of changes to their squad from the one that reached the Asia Cup final last October.

Rashmi Silva and Madushika Methtananda, two players who didn’t get an opportunity in the Asia Cup, have been left out of the squad for the World Cup in favour of Vishmi Gunaratne and Ama Kanchana. 17-year-old Vishmi made her debut in both T20Is and ODIs last year for Sri Lanka and the experienced Ama Kanchana, who made her T20I debut almost 10 years ago, has been recalled for the first time since the Commonwealth Games.

Chamari Athapaththu will lead the 15-member squad once again. Sri Lanka are in Group A alongside New Zealand, Bangladesh, hosts South Africa and defending champions Australia. They begin their campaign on the opening night (February 10) against South Africa at Newlands.


Chamari Athapaththu (C), Oshadi Ranasinghe, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Kaushini Nuthyangana, Malsha Shehani, Inoka Ranaweera, Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasuriya, Tharika Sewwandi, Vishmi Gunaratne, Ama Kanchana, Sathya Sandeepani.

Continue Reading


President’s Mahara and Sri Parakrama NS Kobeigane declared joint champions



The captains of the two schools Mihilsara Oshan (President’s College) and Adeesha Lakshan (Sri Parakrama NS) are seen with the trophy here.

Under 13 Division III Cricket Final

President’s College Mahara and Sri Parakrama National School Kobeigane were declared joint champions of the Under 13 Division III cricket tournament after the final between the two schools ended in a no-decision at Ananda Sastralaya ground Kotte yesterday. In reply to President’s 183 runs, Sri Parakrama National School were 133 for five wickets when rain prevented further play.

Continue Reading