Wayamba batsmen hog limelight

Inter-Provincial OD Cricket


by Roshen Steelman

The champions of the Inter-Provincial OD Tournament 2013, Wayamba, led by Jehan Mubarak. (Files)

Three Waymaba batsmen hogged the limelight at the Inter-Provincial Limited-over final as Wayamba, led by hard-hitting batsman Jehan Mubarak, emerged championship of this year’s tournament beating Kandurata/Uva Combined Team. Wayamba put into bat first compiled a huge total with Niroshan Dickwella and Farveez Maharoof scoring centuries. After Dickwella and Maharoof built the platform, Mubarak cracked 76 runs off 44 balls to post 346 against a team who had secured their berth in the finals by chasing down a total of over 300 runs in the semi-final.

Later Wayamba speedster Nuwan Pradeep came into action picking up five wickets including a hat-trick. He removed Thilina Kandamby, Charith Jayampathi and Amil Prasad in successive deliveries to effectively seal the game for his team.

Kandurata/Uva’s 22-year-old leg-break bowler Dulanjana Mendis broke into the show when he picked the highest number of wickets in last year’s Under-23 Inter-Club Div-II Tournament as his team Sri Lanka Navy won the championship beating Sri Lanka Army in the final. Mendis went on to take a five-wicket haul in that match steering his team for a first innings victory.

Since then, he has been playing a key role for the Navy Sports Club in the Premier League and Limited-over Tournaments. He continued his performance in the Inter-Provincial Limited-over Tournament too becoming the second highest wicket-taker of it. He captured 11 wickets and was named the best bowler of the tournament. Nuwan Pradeep, who captured two wickets more than Mendis, finished the tournament with 13 scalps. Mendis’ best bowling figures of five for 33 which came against Basnahira in the initial stages of the tournament was the best bowling figures in the tournament.

Mubarak topped the most number of runs list with 300 runs while Kandamby finished the tournament 50 runs behind Mubarak. Ian Daniel, having played a single game less than both Mubarak and Kandamby, scored 248 and was named the best batsman of the tournament. Uthura/Neganahira Combined Team player Daniel’s highest score of 92 came against champion team Wayamba in the initial stages of the tournament. Kandamby has the highest individual score of the tournament scoring 113 not out which he scored in the semi-final as his team Kandurata/Uva chased down 310 runs to secure a place in the final.

Ruhuna’s opening bat Shehan Jayasuriya has the best all-round performance in the tournament scoring a total of 202 runs and finishing the tournament as the fifth highest run-scorer. Apart from scoring runs, he also captured five wickets with a bowling average of 20.60 per wicket.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...