Dr Commaraswamy appointed to Tokyo Cement board

Top Lankan born international economist Dr. Indrajit Coomaraswamy has been appointed as a Non Executive Independent Director to the Board of Tokyo Cement Company (Lanka) Plc and its subsidiary companies, with effect from March 14, 2011.

Dr. Coomaraswamy is an experienced development professional with a 30-year track record of policy-making and providing economic advisory services at national and inter-governmental levels. This involved working extensively on both macroeconomic and structural issues.

He has a strong academic background, well developed analytical, technical leadership advocacy and presentation skills, all of which have contributed to a track record in public policy at a senior level over a sustained period. He has implemented projects and programmes in complex environments within a results-based framework, as well as negotiating and collaborating with major multilateral and bilateral donors and other stakeholders including civil society and the private sector.

He was the Director of the Economic Affairs Division, leading the Commonwealth Secretariat’s economic policy work whilst among other highlights of his career are Secondment from the Central Bank of Sri Lanka to the Ministry of Finance and Planning in order work directly with the Minister and Secretary to the Treasury in an advisory capacity on both macroeconomic issues and structural reforms. He had provided advice to the then Prime Minister and the Minister of Economic Reform, Science and Technology, Sri Lanka (2002-3), at the time of key events such as Budget Speeches, Sri Lanka Development forum and negotiations with Bretton Woods institutions and other major donors.

Dr. Coomaraswamy also had brief stints at Hatton National Bank PLC, Galleon Research Services and as Interim Director of ‘the Social Transformation Division (Health, Education and Gender) of the Commonwealth Secretariat.

With the appointment of Dr. Coomaraswamy, the Board of Directors of Tokyo Cement Company (Lanka) Plc comprises of E. Gunatunga (Chairman / Non Executive), S.R.Gnanam (Joint Managing Director) , K. Yanagihira (Joint Managing Director) , A.S.G. Gnanam, S.V. Wanigasekera, E.J. Gnanam, R. Seevaratnam, Dr H.Cabral, T. Tanimura and Dr I. Coomaraswamy.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...