Former national coach Wasantha heads Kundasale SC


Former national boxing coach Wasantha Withanage Kumara was elected president of the newly formed Kundasale Sports Club at a meeting held on June 21 at their club house at Muttiah Muralitharan ground in Kandy.

A former boxing coach at Seevali MMV, Ratnapura, Wasantha is best known for producing a boxer to represent Sri Lanka at the Olympics after more than four decades. His trainee Anuruddha Ratnayake competed at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

A 3-star AIBA qualified coach, Wasantha followed an Advance Management course conducted by the IOC (International Olympic Committee) during his tenure as Sri Lanka coach.

"There was no sports club in the area for talented sportsmen. That is why we decided to form a club. We will have rugby, cricket, boxing, football and volleyball. More than 100 people obtained membership at the inaugural annual general meeting which was conducted in the presence of two government officials from the Divisional Secretariat of the Central Province," said Wasantha.

R.A. Rangana Karunanayake was elected the secretary and R.M.D.B.B. Ratnayake as the treasurer along with 14 executive committee members.


Patrons: Dr. Janaka Marapana, R. Vipula Karunanayake, M.B. Abeyratna

President: Withanage Wasantha Kumara

Vice President: H.M.H. Jayaratna Bandara

Secretary: R.A. Rangana Karunanayake

Asst Secretary: P.A. Janaka Shantha

Treasurer: R.M.D.B.B. Ratnayake

Chief Organiser: Sarath Kumara Kadanage

Auditor: D.G. Thilakarathna

Executive Committee: H.M.L. Wijerathna, M. Panangala, P. Tharanga Karunanayake, Indika Medagedara, P.S. Chandanee Silva, B.G. Maduka de Silva, W.H. Ranil Fernando, H.G.C.I. Nawarathna, H.M.P.B. Herath, Y.G.E. Buddhika, Senaka Rajapaksha, W.A.U. Ranjan Wijesekara Bandara, Amila Kumari Hettige, B.A.M. Miyuru Prasad Abeysinghe

Discipline Committee: Wasantha Withanage Kumara (chairman), Lakshman Wijeratne, I.M. Jagath Kumara, P.B.M.G.S. Basnayake.

Sports Event Committee: Miyuru Prasad Abeysinghe, Priyantha Balasooriya, Janaka Shantha, R.A.K. Rangalla.

Fund Raising Committee: Tharanga Karunayake, Samantha Balasooriya, Kavinda Chandratileke, H.M.B.B. Herath, M.N. Perera.

Ground Development Committee: D.M. Panangala, W.A.U. Ranjan Wijesekera Bandara, R.A.K. Rangalla.

Marketing Committee: Kumudu Rajapakse, Kalpa Bapasara, A. Anuruddha, Kasun Gayan de Silva.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...