Chalith, Sanduni, Vinod continue record breaking spree

Tharushi follows in the footsteps of brother Harsha


Vinod Ariyawansa

by Reemus Fernando

Sprinter Chalith Piyumal of Lumbini College and hurdlers Sanduni Kumarasinghe of Ratnayake Central and Vinod Ariyawansa of St. Aloysius’ College, Ratnapura improved meet records for the second time in their respetive events as familiar power houses dominated day two of the Sir John Tarbat Senior Athletics Championship at the Sugathadasa Stadium on Wednesday.

Kumarasinghe improved the meet record of the Under-16 girls’ 400 metres hurdles for the second time as she won the gold with a feat of 65.91 seconds. She first broke the record with a performance of 66.67 seconds on day one.

Ariyawansa slashed almost two seconds from his day one feat when he won the Under-16 boys’ 400 metres hurdles in a time of 53.76 seconds. His first record breaking feat was 55.32 seconds on day one.

Lumbini’s Piyumal, trained by Dilan Mendis improved the meet record for the second time when he stopped the clock at 21.87 seconds to win the Under-18 boys’ 200 metres. He had returned a time of 21.88 seconds on day one to beat the record held by Maris Stella’s Ramesh Lakshan (21.92 secs- 2018).

Meanwhile, Lakshan ran against the wind to return a time of 21.74 seconds in the Under-20 boys’ 200 metres. Leading girls’ sprinter Shelinda Jansen was the winner of the corresponding girls’ event.

Ratnayake Central, Walala were set to retain the Girls Championship title as they won a number of events. They also showcased a glimps of what could be expected at next week’s National Schools Relay Carnival as they dominated long distance events winning the top four places in some events.

Ratnayake Central’s Tharushi Karunaratne followed in the footsteps of her brother Harsha when she clinched the Under-16 girls’ 800 metres title with a new meet record performance. The younger sister of the Asian Youth Championship medallist clocked 2:17.43 seconds to erase Shanika Lakshani’s record.

Lakshani, meanwhile erased the Under-20 girls’ 800 metres record with a feat of 2:13.26 seconds.

In the Under-20 girls 800 metres Ratnayake Central won the top four places.

The rain-hit Under-18 boys’ 800 metres was the fastest of the three age category finals yesterday with Ranabima Royal runner W.M.T.G. Thennakoon breasting in a time of 1:54.85 seconds.

Makandura Central, College race walker Shashikala Dilshani set a new record in the Under-20 girls 5,000 metres race walk with a feat of 27:18.45 seconds.

The Under-16, 18, and 20 boys 4x100 metres relays were won by Sir John Kothalawala College, Kurunegala, St. Peter’s and St. Benedict’s. The Bens also had the gold in the Under-16 boys’ 800 metres when Ravindu Chirath clocked 2:00.42 seconds. Dinusha de Silva increased St. Peter’s tally by winning the Under-20 800 metres.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...