FR petitions filed over Easter Sunday carnage taken up before SC today

By Chitra Weerarathne

 Petitions filed in the Supreme Court over the Easter Sunday bomb blasts will be called today.

A seven-judge bench comprising the Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justice Sisira de Abrew, Justice Buwaneka Aluwihare, Justice Priyantha Jayawardene, Justice Prasanna Jayawardena, Justice L. T. B. Dehideniya and Justice Murdhu Fernando will hear the petitions.

Among the respondents are the IGP, Secretary Defence and the Cabinet of Ministers.

The petitioners have complained that the negligence of the security authorities caused the disaster. About 259 persons lost their lives and 500 received injuries.

The petitions want the authorities responsible for dereliction of duty prosecuted for criminal negligence.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...