Two PTL beneficiaries reappointed to COPE

Many an eyebrow has been raised over the re-appointment of Non-cabinet Minister Sujeewa Senasinghe and UPFA MP Dayasiri Jayasekera to the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) though they have received money from the disgraced primary dealer Perpetual Treasuries Limited (PTL) involved in the Central Bank Treasury bond scams, in 2015 and 2016.

The COPE was reconstituted following the convening of Parliament with the reappointment of Ranil Wickremesinghe as the Prime Minister.

Senasinghe and Jayasekera have accepted Rs. 3 mn and 1 mn, respectively.

According to the Presidential Commission of Inquiry (P CoI) they were among those COPE members who had been in touch with PTL owner Arjun Aloysius.

MP Jayasekera is on record as having said that there was a secret list containing the names of 118, including many MPs who received money from the PTL (SF)

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...