Thomians cruise to sixth win

Under-19 Cricket

S. Thomas’ College cruised to their sixth outright victory of the season as they reduced Lumbini to 99 runs after tea in their final group ‘D" match of the Under-19 Division I tournament at Mount Lavinia on Tuesday.

The stage for the innings and two runs victory was set up by Manthila Wijerathne who scored an unbeaten century (106n.o. in 147 balls, 12x4s, 1x6s) to compliment the bowling efforts of Shannon Fernando, who took six wickets in the first innings to restrict Lumbini to 179 runs. Dulith Gunaratne was the next highest scorer with 86 runs.

Commencing the second innings with a deficit of 101 runs the visitors were bowled out for 99 runs.

Pavith Rathnayake took four wickets, while Thevin Eriyagama and Shannon Fernando took two wickets each.

The Thomians are likely to end up runners up to Mahinda College, Galle in Group ‘D’.


Lumbini 179 all out in 67.3 overs (Kaveen Kemitha 43, Dushan Fernando 22, Lakindu Upendra 38, Prabhath Madusanka 20, Vimukthi Kulatunga 20; Shannon Fernando 6/33, Thevin Eriyagama 2/30) and 99 all out in 31 overs (Dushan Fernando 20, Sandunil Sankalpa 24; Pavith Rathnayake 4/23, Thevin Eriyagama 2/09, Shannon Fernando 2/40)

S. Thomas’ 126 for 3 overnight 280 for 5 decl. in 59 overs (Manthila Wijerathne 106n.o., Dulith Gunaratne 86, Maneesha Rupasinghe 29n.o., Thevin Eriyagama 24; Pasindu Nadun 3/44)

Wesley on first innings but Nipun shines

Wesley won first innings points but Nipun Dananjaya managed to restore pride with a match bag of ten wickets and a half century for Joseph Vaz in their Under-19 tournament match at Campbell Park.

Wesley 273 all out in 76.1 overs (Movin Subasinghe 82, Hasith Geesara 47, Sakuntha Liyanage 33, Thisuraka Akmeemana 30, Buddima Wijesundara 28, Shenal Dangalla 22; Nipun Dananjaya 6/74, Avindu Shehara 3/66) and 72 for 8 decl. in 29.4 overs (Hasith Geesara 27; Hashan Deneth 4/29, Nipun Dananjaya 4/24)

Joseph Vaz 183 all out in 66.4 overs (Anjana Rukmal 69, Thilan Pradeeptha 34; Movin Subasinghe 4/60, Mohamed Ubaidullah 2/32, Sakuntha Liyanage 2/28) and 76 for 3 in 11.2 overs (Nipun Dananjaya 52)

Supun hammers double century

Supun Sumanaratne commencing from his overnight score of 82 runs hammered 202 runs in 209 balls (35x4s) to propel Maliyadeva to 383 runs and take first innings honours against Dharmapala in their match ended at Welagedara on Tuesday.


Dharmapala 298 all out in 62 overs (Avishka Hasarinda 101, Malith Sandakelum 69, Ashen Egodage 40; Kaveen Bandara 4/66, Sanjeevan Priyadarshan 2/35, Dulaj Ranatunga 2/54) and 251 for 5 at close in 41 overs (Malith Sandakelum 65, Amila Dayanaka 71, Lakshitha Purasinghe 50n.o.; Dulaj Ranatunga 3/73)

Maliyadeva 383 all out in 84.3 overs (Supun Sumanaratne 202, Muditha Premadasa 60, Dulaj Ranatunga 46, Shaluka Atapattu 21; Chamindu Samarasinghe 5/115, Dilshan de Silva 3/114)

Miranga picks up seven wickets

Left-arm spinner Miranga Wickramage took seven wickets to restrict Ananda to 144 runs before Revan Kelly top scored with 76 runs for St. Joseph’s to reach 181 for seven wickets at stumps on day one of their final group match of the Division I tournament at Darely Road on Tuesday.


Ananda 144 all out in 51.3 overs (Kamesh Nirmal 22, Lakshitha Amarasekara 27n.o.; Lakshan Gamage 2/45, Miranga Wickramage 7/28)

St. Joseph’s 181 for 7 in 54 overs (Revan Kelly 76, Shevaan Rassool 26, Jehan Daniel 44; Daminda Reshan 3/46)


animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...