Report on recommendations for speedy justice presented to President


Deputy Minister of Power and Energy Ajith P. Perera hands over the report containing the recommendations for Speedy and
Effective Implementation of Justice, to President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday, Several Ministers and Parliamentarians were also present on the occassion.

The report, which compiled the recommendations for speedy and effective implementation of the criminal justice was presented to President Maithripala Sirisena at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday.

It was compiled by the Sectoral Oversight Committee on Legal Affairs (anti-corruption) and Media and the Deputy Minister Ajith P Perera presented the report to the President.

The Sectoral Oversight Committee on Legal Affairs (anti-corruption) and Media was appointed to scrutinize the functions of the Ministries of Justice, Parliamentary Reforms and Mass Media as well as to evaluate the efficiency of those Ministries.

Member of Parliament Ajith Mannapperuma is the Chairman of this Committee and many Deputy Ministers and MPs work as members of this Committee.

The government said that in order to maintain the success of the judicial system of Sri Lanka, more accurate and fair judicial decisions should be delivered to the public without any delay."It is the responsibility of the government to prepare the legal framework to fulfill the respective duties of the Attorney General Department and the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption efficiently. The objective of this report is to classify and present recommendations to create an environment for these institutions work understanding the current needs of the society."

During this event, discussions were held regarding issues related to the judicial field. The President also pointed out the importance of the development of human resource as well as providing infrastructure facilities while updating the judicial field with new technologies.

Minister of Justice Thalatha Athukorala, State Minister Eran Wickramaratne, Deputy Ministers Karunarathne Paranawithana, Ajith P. Perera, Dushmantha Mithrapala, M. A. Sumanthiran MP, Attorney General Jayantha Jayasuriya and the Additional Solicitor General Yasantha Kodagoda participated on this occasion.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...