Sabaragamuwa PC’s term ends tonight

By Ranil Dharmasena

The term of the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council ends at midnight today (26). Accordingly, all powers of Chief Minister of the Province Maheepala Herath will be transferred to Governor of the Province Marshal Perera, PC.

Although the term of the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council comes to an end, there will be no election as per the provisions of the Provincial Councils Elections (Amendment) bill passed in Parliament last week.

The new laws had effectively blocked the Elections Commission from calling for elections, a senior official of the Commission told The Island, adding that they would have to wait till new electoral reforms were passed by parliament.

Similarly, the terms of the North Central Provincial Council and Eastern Provincial Council would end on Sept. 30 and Oct. 01 respectively.

The last election to the Sabaragamuwa PC was held on Sept. 08, 2012 and UPFA won 28 seats while the UNP secured 14 and CWC two.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...