Lifetime Awards to mark 27th Abdul Aziz commemoration

The Lifetime Awards ceremony to mark the 27th anniversary commemoration of trade union leader Abdul Aziz has been rescheduled for Sunday, August 20 at 2.00 pm at the Dehiowita Pradeshiya Sabha Complex Auditorium.

The event seeks to honor the dedicated service of Kegalle district social workers and trade unionists who worked towards the upliftment and development of the plantation community. The ceremony could not be held earlier, as planned, due to the grave flood situation in the area at the time.

The guests of honor at the ceremony will be Radha Venkataraman, Assistant High Commissioner of India in Kandy, Navin Dissanayake, Minister of Plantation Industries, Kabir Hashim, Minister of Public Enterprise Development, Mahipala Herath, Chief Minister, Sabaragamuwa Province, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Minister of Power and Renewable Energy, H. R. Sarathi Dushmantha, Deputy Minister of Justice and Buddha Sasana, Sujith Perera, District Development Committee – Vice President, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, M.P. and (Dr.) Mrs. Thusitta Vijemanna, M.P.

Former Ministers Athauda Seneviratne, H. R. Mithrapala, Prof. Tissa Vitharana, U. L. M. Farook, P. P. Devaraj and M. S. Sellasamy will also attend together with Kegalle District Provincial Council Members and Leaders of Plantation Trade Unions.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...