SL Junior Match Play Golf Championship 2017 for the Rukmini Kodagoda Trophy


In the Gold division the finalist made the cut to battle it out for the coveted Rukmini Kodgoda trophy and the Sri Lanka Junior Match Play Champion title. In this division age group boys 18 yrs and below, Vinod Weerasinghe overcame stiff competition from Armand Flamer Caldera to win the game 3/1.

Both showed much promise and being long off the tees they battled it out with good play and ultimately Vinod winning on the putts. In the final past champion Vinod Weerasinghe is looking to go for his second win back to back. T. Akash had a narrow 1 up win over Vihan De Alwis, after Vihan being 3 up on the turn but careless play costing him the match. In the final top seed T. Akash will take on last years winner Vinod Weerasinghe. In the girls open Taniya Minel beat Binaara Dias 9/7 and Anelka Desinghe beat Kiyara Dunuwilla 4/3. Taniya Minel goes out as hot favourite to win the coveted title.

In the silver division age group under 15 yrs, top seed Dilshan Malinda beat S. D. M Hirushan 4/2 and S. Dhuwarshan (NEGC) beat Haroon Aslam 7/5. Emerging talent was evident in the Bronze division age group 12 yrs and below with Yannik Kumara playing regulation golf to secure the win over Shanal Binuksha 2/1. Though defeated we are likely to see talent blossoming from Shanal in the future, youngest in this age group. In the second semifinal Nirekh Tejwani trounced K. Danushan 6/5.

In the most junior category 9 years and under (Copper Division), we saw Kaya Daluwatta play consistent golf to beat Kvahn Tejwani 3/2 and long hitting Reshan Algama beat C. Dharaniyan 3/2. The match was played over 9 holes. We are likely to see much competition in the final between two evenly matched players Kaya and Reshan. Final day of play will see the prize distribution hosted by the sponsor Perera and Sons Bakers Ltd and the tournament is organized by the Sri Lanka Golf Union.


The plate winners are as follows:

Gold division (under 19 years) –S. Sanju 87

Silver division (under 15 years) – not awarded

Bronze division (under 12 years) – M. H. Hiruna Sathsara 92 B/B

Copper division (9 years & under) – Akira Yatawara 57.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...