St. Thomas’ hold slight edge over St. John’s

Under-19 Division II Cricket Final


by Reemus Fernando

St. Thomas’ College, Matara hold a slight edge over St. John’s College, Panadura when the two teams meet in the Inter School Under-19 Division II League tournament final at the Surrey Village ground, Maggona over the weekend (22 & 23).

Having accomplished the gruelling task of earning a place each in the Division I category (by virtue of their semi-final victories) for the first time in history, the two teams will vie to win the Singer Trophy on offer for the Division II champions.

With a strong batting line-up and variety in the bowling department, the Thomians come in as favourites but the lads from Panadura have enough talent to upset any opposition on their day.

The team captained by Nipun Achalanka have in the team a batsman who has scored over 1,000 runs for the season and two spinners who have shared over 170 wickets between them this season.

Raminda Pravinath scored more than 1,100 runs with two double-centuries against Piliyandala Central and Karandeniya Central. He has the company of Mihisal Amoda and Tharusha Kavindya who have scored more than 500 runs this season in the batting department.

Deputy skipper and off-spinner Hasheen Dilmal with a tally of over 90 wickets and left-arm spinner Praveen Madushan with 80 wickets are the players to watch in the bowling department. Pacemen Akila Thivanka and Maleesha de Seram will share the new ball for Thomians.

St. John’s will rely on Rukshan Dissanayake (scored more than 800 runs), skipper Nandun Ahangama (scored more than 600 runs with 2 centuries), wicketkeeper batsman Rasindu Ishan (over 500 runs) and Sithum Peiris (over 500 runs) and deputy skipper Kavindu Hashan to make strong the batting department. Paceman Malith Gunawardane who can also bat will share the new ball with Praveen Sandamal.

They have additional pace bowling options in Ashan Dilhara and last year captain Thanuja Akalanka who took five wickets in the semi-final. Off-spinner Thamindu Wickramarachchi is the leading spinner.

St. John’s beat Rahula College, Matara on first innings in the semi final to earn their Division I promotion and the place in the Division II final.

The Thomians edged out St. Anne’s College, Kurunegala by points in a rain affected semi-final to book their final berth and earn the Division I promotion.

Teams -

St. Thomas’ (from): 

Nipun Achalanka (Captain), Hashin Dilmal (V. Capt.), Tharusha Kavindya, Praveen Madushan, Raminda Pravinath, Akila Thiwanka, Hasitha Suneth, Ishan Jayawardane, Maleesha de Saram, Hirantha Lakshan, Mihisal Amoda, Sachira Rashmika, Gishanthika Jayaweera, Lahiru Gimhan, Lahiru Dilshan, Sandun Chaminda, Kavinda Ridmal, Avindu Nimantha, Nimanthaka Bhashana, Sanjaya Madhuranga, Sachintha Gimhan, J. P. Harindu, Hirusha Jeevadith, Woshitha Amarasinghe, Sineth Dissanayake and Nipun Ruchira.

Officials: Charith Palliyage (Coach), Dumindu Hewapathirana (Asst. Coach), Dinusha Jayasanka (Asst. Coach), W. M. A. D. Lakmal (Master in Charge), W.B. Piyatissa (Principal).


St John’s (from):

Nandun Ahangama (Captain), Kavindu Hashan (V. Capt.), Thanuj Akalanka, Sithum Pramoda, Malith Gunawardhane, Rasindu Ishan, Sachin Dhananjaya, Rukshan Dissanayake, Gihan Anjana, Praveen Sandamal, Sasitha Manupriya, Thamindu Niwarthana, Ashan Dilhara, Dilshan Prasanna, Pramod Sandaruwan and Rishan Malik.

Officials: Upul Gunathilake (Master in Charge), G. Ranasinghe (Coach), Vikum Jayasinghe (Asst. Coach), Harshana Pieris (Principal).

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...