Three Championships this year for SL Army Cricket


The Sri Lanka Army Cricket has dominated the year 2016 with three major cricket championships plus two runners-up titles, in Men’s and Women’s Tournaments, which were conducted by Sri Lanka Cricket.

SL Army thus made its highest ever achievement in cricket in the history of Army Sports.

Army Men’s team won the Inter Club T20 Championship in the beginning of the year. Their Women’s team won the Inter Club Limited-over Championship while their Men’s Under-23 team became runners-up in the Limited-over Championship. The men then won the Champions title at the Under-23 T20 this month beating strong SSC at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

In recent past, SL Army has produced three men’s players for the Sri Lanka national squad, namely Lieutenant Ajantha Mendis, who is currently recovering from an injury, Warrant Officer Seekkuge Prasanna and Bombadier Asela Gunaratne, a future star to watch out for.

There are six women’s players are in the National squad [Nipuni Hansika (Capt.), Sugandika Kumari, Achini Kulasekera, Nilakshi Silva, S/Sgt Niluka and Rebecca Van Dort]. There are another eight National Development Squad players from Army.

There have been many other prospective male players from Army such as all-rounder Janith Silva, Janaka Sampath, Leo Francis, Sanjika Ridma, Himasha Liyanage, Dishan de Zoysa and Nuwan Liyanapathirana. Army featuring players from all parts of the country had shown rare capabilities this time challenging all major clubs.

The Army Cricket Committee is headed by former Nalandian and 1st XI player Major General Ajith Wickramasinghe. Former Anthonian (Kandy) and Army cricketer Maj. General Priyantha Jayasundara is the vice chairman and former Josephian and Army cricketer as well as SL U-19 Team Manager, Colonel Shiran Abeysekera is the current Secretary of Army cricket.

Their cricket committee compromises past cricketers. Army is coached by former SL ‘A’ player Pasan Wanasinghe who has made a tremendous effort to carry Army performances to the highest level during last one year. They also became champions in U-23 Div. II last year.

Army has many facilities to develop players. Its infrastructure includes supporting staff, physiotherapy, masseurs, trainers, asst. coaches and video analysing.

Following are Army cricket’s Support Staff: Major Suranga – Administrative officer of teams, Capt. Thushan Zoysa – Manager U-23, Lt. Nuwan Silva - Women’s Coach, Physio – Capt. Dilshan Dharmasena, Trainer - L/Bdr Tharindu Dilan, Masseurs - Bdr Pradeep and Chathura Perera, Fielding Coach – Bdr. Sahan Pieris and Chief Curator – Bdr. Malwana and his staff.

Army pays gratitude to its past chairmen such as Major Gen. V. R. Silva and Major General Ubaya Medawela who have done a tremendous service to uplift the standards of Army cricket.

Special thanks also go to present Commander of the Army, Lt. Gen. Crishanthe de Silva and Director - Army Sports, Brig. Athula Galagamage who has provided much facilities and leadership to all its sports disciplines paving the way for national victories in football, boxing, volleyball, etc.

Army sports can now assure the country’s youth the best facilities for them to become future champions in the world.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...