Three more ministers


by Zacki Jabbar

President Maithripala Sirisena with the newly appointed Deputy Ministers Manusha Nanayakkara and Palitha Thewarapperuma and State Minister Lakshman Seneviratne at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday.

President Maithripala Sirisena appointed three more junior Ministers yesterday.

Hours before Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe took wing to China on an official visit, the President swore in UPFA MPs Lakshman Seneviratne as State Minister of Science, Technology and Research and Manusha Nanayakkara as Deputy Minister of Foreign Employment .

The UNP was also given a portfolio with Palitha Thawarapperuma being appointed as Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs, Wayamba Development and Cultural Affairs.

With yesterday’s appointments the number of State Ministers rose to 20 and Deputy Ministers to 25. The number of Cabinet Ministers stood at 47, with the most recent addition being that of Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka as Minister of Regional Development National Agriculture and Diversification and Human Settlement Authority.

animated gif
Processing Request
Please Wait...